What Kind Of Writer Do You Want To Be?


I knew I wanted to write from the time I was in high school. I figured the best thing I could do would be to write what I like to read. I looked around my bookcase and it was stacked with books stuck in every available space, on the top of the bookcase and taking up residence in other parts of the house too.

What I found was mainly romance novels. I had some reference manuals, textbooks from years gone by that I refused to give away, and murder/mystery novels. What I had an abundance of however, were romance novels. Out the waazoo! So, ok…apparently I’m a sap.

But when you took a closer look at the books, the women featured in the books were fighters. Books like Through the Veil by Shiloh Walker, Lover Mine by JR Ward, Blurred Bloodlines by Kallysten. Those were and are authors I love to read. I tell you, I’m a fan first. I’m still the geeky fan that checks in from time to time to see when the latest book is coming out in the series that I adore. I buy jewelry that represents the characters that I’ve literally fallen in love with. Like this one http://www.etsy.com/transaction/28404299.

I know…. a bit much!? If you’re staring at a blank piece of paper, and you know you want to write a story and you have no idea what to write about; write what you like. So now you’re talking to the screen like I can hear you right? You’re saying to me, “Duh, I know what I want to write but I need a concept.” Did you know that you already know the best stories? They are the stories you tell your friends about. The stories you laugh about and can’t wait to share with someone else. They are the stories that drive you to drink, cry, rage, and rail. Those stories make you feel warm, sad, gutted, whole, uplifted and grounded. You know the characters too. They are your friends, your colleagues, your co-workers, classmates, allies, enemies, neighbors and maybe even parts of yourself.

The story is there. Be still a moment and it will come to you. It did for me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Beth Barany
    May 17, 2011 @ 00:10:52

    Lovely! What wonderful encouragement!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

