Ummm, Yeah…I Forgot A Key Ingredient


Remember how I said I couldn’t bake. Ummm….yeah. I don’t try to mess up. Shoulder shrug….it just happens, naturally.

Ooooh how I wish I could be the homebody that goes in the kitchen and whips up a nice batch of wonderful but that is not me. I swear I’m like a perpetual, lifelong student. I believe for anything that I’m lacking or want to know more about, there has got to be a class on it and I need to go signup. Looks like, this is one of those things people.

Remember when your mom used to make cake batter. Were you the kid that couldn’t wait to lick the bowl clean. Well that was me. I was a fiend for cake batter and cornbread cake batter. THE best cornbread is the Jiffy cornbread muffin mix. I literally make it cake like with just a tiny bit of lemon extract or vanilla extract and a little bit of sugar. My family loves it and usually asks for more before its gone. Usually I don’t screw that up. I did say usually.

The Incredible Edible Egg

Last week however, I made cornbread. Got out two boxes and emptied the contents in a bowl. Put two-thirds milk, tiny bit of lemon extract, sugar and mixed it all up. Put it in the baking pan and slapped it in the oven. Did you notice anything missing among the ingredients? Nodding my head up and down. Mmm hmph, mmm hmph! Yep, yep. Sigh. That’s right…I forgot the eggs.

You know that stuff that holds it together. That would be what I left out.

I did remember, about 15 minutes after I put it in the oven. There wasn’t any turning back at that point though. It was edible but it fell apart in crumbs anytime you tried to solidly hold it. We were eating cornbread with a spoon. My friend, T.F. Walsh suggested a timer might help me out. Not saying I told you so T….just saying. I’m not as bad as Sissy Spacek in the Coal Miners Daughter when she used salt instead of sugar. Remember that movie?

Have you ever had kitchen disasters? How did you try to save it?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patricia Royal
    May 18, 2011 @ 16:34:45

    I ran out of eggs once when making brownies so I went to Google and saw a suggestion to sub mayonnaise… It didn’t work. The texture was all wrong and the taste was funky. I trashed it.
    Another time when I worked as a baker (I love baking btw) I’m not sure what I forgot in the pumpkin bread but the loaves didn’t rise at all. Thankfully it was a small batch so my boss and I decided to toss it and I made sure to go over the recipe very carefully the second time.

    Reply

    • erinjamison
      May 18, 2011 @ 16:42:41

      I know I’m not alone. One of the guys I work with, his wife, is a good cook. Keeps him happy so it keeps me happy. Happy man is a happy boss you know.

      So he comes in one day and he’s like, “You are not going to believe what happened last night.” His wife was on this health kick and she was trying to bake healthy so no sugar, no oil, flourless kinda stuff. I know it can be done but it just doesn’t sound very appealing to me. She made brownies but it had no form. You had to chase it around the pan. He said he finally just put it with ice cream just to get it down.

      See…there’s room for everybody!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

